Sarah’s Baby Blanket

There is a “handcrafting” group at my work.  They get together and do their knitting, crocheting or other type of yarn/needle work. When I learned about it I thought it was so great.  Funny enough, however,  I still haven’t had the opportunity to attend one of their “meetings” (they plan a lunchtime get together once a month or so).  One of the great things that they do is knit or crochet squares and assemble blankets for people in the respective departments expecting babies.  One of the women in my department was expecting and we all decided to work on a blanket for her.  It took me a long time to find a pattern that I wanted to do but I eventually settled on one.  I found it in a knitting book that I bought a few years ago.

I chose this pattern found on page 189 in Donna Kooler’s Encyclopedia of Knitting (2004). It’s a 4-stitch repeating pattern.  It is called the “woven stitch”…I think there may have been a typo in the book, so I have altered the pattern extremely slightly (I just added one extra weave at the end of each odd row whenever I came to it).

The blanket turned out amazing! There are so many talented people in the company and they all really did wonderful work.  Some are really advanced in their skills as well.  We gave Sarah the blanket at a baby shower we held for her.  She absolutely loved it.  A few weeks after the baby shower she delivered a beautiful, healthy baby boy named Leo.

It doesn’t look that crisp and neat on its own, but when it was seamed with all of the other squares it was a perfect square.

Completed March 29, 2011

 

 

One thought on “Sarah’s Baby Blanket

  1. Pingback: Under Construction « nell's knitting

Leave a Reply

