Kindle sleeve

I love to read.  It’s a known fact.  Everyone knows I love books.  I also used to commute to work on the train and liked to have a book with me to pass the time.  I can and will read just about anywhere.  Sometimes, though, it was a pain in the ass to take a really big hardcover book on the train.  Or if I was going away on vacation I would most definitely be reading on the flight.  I’m a fast reader and the chances of me finishing a book during a flight were really good.  And it was a pain to take 3 or 4 books with me in my carry-on because they take up space.  So I have a Kindle.  I wanted to make sure it didn’t get damaged but I also didn’t want to spend $50 on a case.  Not to mention that I have a huge tote filled with yarn, so why not make my own sleeve?

I knitted it similar to a scarf, just much wider. then I folded it in half and seamed the sides together to make a sleeve.

I will definitely re-do this pattern again and make a few different sleeves.  I think I will make a clasp to keep it closed.  Over time, the yarn scrunches down and then doesn’t cover the enter Kindle…and one of the seamed corners started to come undone.  Just some technical issues.

Completed July 11, 2011

 

 

Leave a Reply

